About us

The Department of the Environment designs and implements the Australian Government’s policies and programmes to protect and conserve the environment, water and heritage and promote climate action. The environmental framework is being delivered under four pillars:

About the Department of the Environment


Matters dealt with by the Department

  • Administrative Arrangements Order
  • Environment protection and conservation of biodiversity
  • Air quality
  • National fuel quality standards
  • Land contamination
  • Meteorology
  • Administration of the Australian Antarctic Territory, and the Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • Natural, built and cultural heritage
  • Environmental information and research
  • Ionospheric prediction
  • Co-ordination of sustainable communities policy
  • Population policy
  • Urban environment
  • Development and co-ordination of domestic climate change policy
  • Renewable energy target policy, regulation and co-ordination
  • Greenhouse emissions and energy consumption reporting
  • Climate change adaptation strategy and co-ordination
  • Co-ordination of climate change science activities
  • Renewable energy
  • Greenhouse gas abatement programmes
  • Community and household climate action
  • Renewable energy technology development
  • Environmental water use and resources relating to the Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder

The Department of the Environment was established on 18 September 2013.

Throughout Australia, environment and heritage issues are also managed by other levels of government.

Forums, Councils and Committees


Department of the Environment
John Gorton Building
Environment entrance
King Edward Terrace
Parkes ACT 2600
GPO Box 787
Canberra ACT 2601