Department of the Environment

About us | Contact us | Publications

About us header images - leftAbout us header images - centreAbout us header images - right

Publications archive - Annual reports


Key departmental publications, e.g. annual reports, budget papers and program guidelines are available in our online archive.

Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Environment Australia Annual Report 2000-01

Environment Australia, 2001
ISSN 1441-9335

Appendix 7 - Geographic areas of responsibility

World Heritage areas

map image: World Heritage areas

Australia's World Heritage sites (with the date when they were inscribed on the list) are:

Commonwealth national parks and reserves

map image: Commonwealth parks and reserves

The Commonwealth terrestrial national parks and reserves are Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Kakadu National Park, Booderee National Park and Botanic Gardens - all jointly managed with the traditional owners - Christmas Island National Park, Norfolk Island National Park, Pulu Keeling National Park and the Australian National Botanic Gardens.

The total area of these parks and reserves is 21 310 square kilometres.

National marine parks and reserves are Ashmore Reef, Coringa-Herald, Elizabeth and Middleton Reefs, Lihou Reef, Mermaid Reef, Tasmanian Seamounts, Cartier Island, Macquarie Island and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, and the Commonwealth waters of Ningaloo, Solitary Islands, Great Australian Bight and Lord Howe Island.

The total area of the Commonwealth's marine parks and reserves is 208 060 square kilometres.

Register of the National Estate

map image: Register of the National Estate

The Register of the National Estate is Australia's national inventory of natural and cultural heritage places. It is compiled by the Australian Heritage Commission.

There are now more than 12 000 natural, historic and indigenous places in the Register. They come from all parts of Australia and are owned variously by Commonwealth, State and local governments, by businesses, voluntary and other organisations and by private individuals.

All places entered in the Register are assessed against publicly available criteria outlining national estate values.

Ramsar wetland sites

map image: Ramsar wetland sites

Under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act, a Ramsar wetland is either an Australian wetland on the List of Wetlands of International Importance kept under the Ramsar Convention; or a wetland declared to be a Ramsar wetland by the Commonwealth Environment Minister.

Ramsar Convention wetlands are sites that are recognised under the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance as being of international significance in terms of ecology, botany, zoology, limnology or hydrology. Australia has 53 Ramsar wetlands including Coongie Lakes (South Australia), Corner Inlet (Victoria), Macquarie Marshes (New South Wales), Moreton Bay (Queensland); and Roebuck Bay (Western Australia).

Meteorological stations

map image: meteorological stations

The Bureau of Meteorology observation system includes a Bureau-staffed surface and upper-air network of 50 stations, a surface network of more than 800 synoptic observation stations, more than 6000 volunteer rainfall observing stations and a range of other specialised networks and facilities such as weather watch radar, flood warning, lightning detection, drifting buoys, solar and terrestrial radiation, ozone and satellite data reception. Stations are located on the Australian mainland, on remote islands and in Antarctica.

The communications system consists of an integrated network of satellite, radio, facsimile and computer facilities for data collection and forecast and warning dissemination. The major analysis and prediction centres are the National Meteorological and Oceanographic Centre in Melbourne and the seven Regional Forecasting Centres, one in each State and the Northern Territory.