Department of the Environment

About us | Contact us | Publications

About us header images - leftAbout us header images - centreAbout us header images - right

Publications archive - Annual reports


Key departmental publications, e.g. annual reports, budget papers and program guidelines are available in our online archive.

Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Department of the Environment and Heritage Annual Report 2002-03

Department of the Environment and Heritage, 2003
ISSN 1441 9335

Appendix 7 - Geographic areas of responsibility

National Parks, Marine Parks and Reserves

The Commonwealth terrestrial national parks and reserves are Uluru - Kata Tjuta National Park, Kakadu National Park, Booderee National Park (all jointly managed with the traditional owners), Christmas Island National Park, Norfolk Island National Park (including Norfolk Island Botanic Garden), Pulu Keeling National Park and the Australian National Botanic Gardens. The total area of these parks and gardens is 21 313 square kilometres.

National marine parks and reserves are Ashmore Reef, Coringa-Herald, Elizabeth and Middleton Reefs, Heard Island and McDonald Island, Lihou Reef, Mermaid Reef, Tasmanian Seamounts, Cartier Island, Macquarie Island and the Great Barrier Reef, and the Commonwealth waters of Ningaloo, Solitary Islands, Great Australian Bight and Lord Howe Island. The total area of the Commonwealth's marine parks and reserves is 616 572 square kilometres.

The Commonwealth also has 6 reserves in the Antarctic Region and 13 reserves surrounding historic shipwrecks off the Australian coastline.

The Antarctic Special Protection Areas are Marine Plain, Ardery and Odbert Islands, Clark Peninsula, North-east Bailey Peninsula, Rookery Islands and Taylor Rookery. The total area of these areas is 34.5 square kilometres.

The Historic Shipwrecks are Aarhus, Cato, Emden, Foam, HMS Pandora, HMS Porpoise, I-24 (Japanese submarine), SS Dunkenfeld, Yongala, Zuytdorp, Lady Darling, Gothenburg, Llewellyn and Clonmel. The total area of these reserves is 8.3 square kilometres.

National Parks, Marine Parks and Reserves

National Parks, Marine Parks and Reserves

Indigenous protected areas

Indigenous Protected Areas are declared by Indigenous landowners who are supported through the Natural Heritage Trust to manage their lands for the protection of natural and cultural features. Management is implemented in accordance with internationally recognised standards and guidelines for the benefit of all Australians.

The declaration of an Indigenous Protected Area over Indigenous owned lands results in that land being considered as part of the National Reserve System. There are currently 17 Indigenous Protected Areas making up a total area of over 13.7 million hectares. In 2002-03 Mt Willoughby (South Australia), covering 386 500 ha was declared. Also declared in 2002-03 was the largest Indigenous Protected Area, Ngaanyatjarra Lands (Western Australia), which covers almost 10 million hectares.

Indigenous Protected Areas

Indigenous Protected Areas

National Reserve System

The National Reserve System Program aims to assist with the establishment of a comprehensive, adequate and representative system of protected areas to conserve Australia's biodiversity. In 2002-03 the National Reserve System Program approved 43 properties for addition to the National Reserve System totaling 935 721 hectares.

Since the commencement of the program, properties added to the National Reserve System through purchase or covenant have increased the protected area estate in Australia by 6.78 million hectares. This represents 8.75% of the terrestrial reserve system.

National Reserve System

National Reserve System

Ramsar sites

Ramsar sites are wetlands that are designated under the Convention on Wetlands because they are internationally significant in terms of ecology, botany, zoology, limnology or hydrology. Australia has 64 Ramsar sites, occurring in all jurisdictions, including the Coorong and Coongie Lakes (SA), Corner Inlet (Vic), Macquarie Marshes (NSW), Moreton Bay (Qld), Roebuck Bay (WA) and Kakadu National Park (NT).

Ramsar Sites

Ramsar Sites

Natural Heritage Trust regions

There are 62 Natural Heritage Trust regions. These regions are:

New South Wales South Australia Western Australia Queensland
Border Rivers
Central Coast
Central West
Lower Murray-Darling
Lower North Coast
Mid North Coast
Northern Rivers
South East
Sydney Harbour
Sydney South
Upper North Coast
Western (NSW)
Aboriginal Lands
Eyre Peninsula
Kangaroo Island
Mount Lofty Ranges
Northern Yorke Agricultural District
River Murray
South East
Northern Agriculture Region
South Coast Region
South West Region
Desert Channels
SEQ Western Catchments
SEQ Murray-Darling Committee
Border Rivers
Victoria Tasmania Australian Capital Territory Northern Territory
East Gippsland
Goulburn Broken
North Central
North East
Port Phillip
West Gippsland
North West
Australian Capital Territory Northern Territory
Natural Heritage Trust

Natural Heritage Trust

National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality regions

The National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality targets 21 of the worst affected areas in Australia. These regions are:

New South Wales South Australia Western Australia Queensland
Mt Lofty-Kangaroo Island-Northern Agricultural Districts
South East
Lower Murray (SA-Vic)
South Coast
South West
Northern Agricultural Region
Ord (WA-NT)
Border Rivers (NSW/Qld)
Condamine-Balonne-Maranoa (NSW-Qld)
Victoria Northern Territory Tasmania  
Darwin-Katherine Midlands  
National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality

National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality

World Heritage areas

Australia's World Heritage sites (with the date when they were first inscribed on the list) are:

World Heritage Areas

World Heritage Areas

Register of the National Estate

The Register of the National Estate is Australia's national inventory of natural and cultural heritage places. It is compiled by the Australian Heritage Commission.

There are now more than 13 000 natural, historic and Indigenous places in the register. They are in all parts of Australia and are owned variously by Commonwealth, state and local governments, by businesses, voluntary and other organisations and by private individuals.

All places entered in the register are assessed against publicly available criteria outlining national estate values.

Register of the National Estate

Register of the National Estate