Publications archive

Department of the Environment and Heritage annual report 2005–06

Volume one
Department of the Environment and Heritage, 2006
1441 9335

Executive summary (continued)

Organisation overview

Portfolio overview

The Department of the Environment and Heritage is the lead agency delivering the Australian Government’s national environment and heritage legislation, policies and programmes.

The Australian Government’s environment and heritage portfolio includes the department and three statutory authorities (Director of National Parks, Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and Sydney Harbour Federation Trust), one statutory agency (Office of the Renewable Energy Regulator) and one executive agency (Bureau of Meteorology) that report separately on their performance.

Departmental overview

As at 30 June 2006 the Department of the Environment and Heritage was made up of 13 divisions (see figure below).

In 2005–06 the Policy Coordination and Environment Protection Division was split into two divisions: the Policy Coordination Division and the Environment Quality Division. There were no other changes to the structure of the department in 2005–06.

Roles and functions

The department focuses on matters of national environmental significance by:


In its work the department looks for solutions that are efficient, equitable and feasible based on:

Organisational structure chart

Before you download

Some documents are available as PDF files. You will need a PDF reader to view PDF files.
List of PDF readers 

If you are unable to access a publication, please contact us to organise a suitable alternative format.