Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps


Compiler and date details

31 December 2002 - Mark S. Harvey, Western Australian Museum, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia


The Charinidae are the largest amblypygid family, with 39 species in three genera (Harvey 2003), but 27 of these species are placed in Charinus. Charinids were placed as the sister-group to the remaining Euamblypygi by Weygoldt (1996), but he failed to find any single apomorphy to unite the family as a monophyletic unit.

The Australian fauna consists of a single species of Charinus from north-eastern Queensland, although a different, probably undescribed, species has been examined from Torres Strait.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
12-Feb-2010 (import)