Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links



The class Sarcopterygii includes the ancient relict groups of lungfish and coelacanth. Extant lungfish are now represented by two orders: Ceratodontiformes, known only from Australia, and Lepidosireniformes, from South Africa and South America (Nelson 1994). Coelacanths have an extensive fossil history, but today only a single living genus, Latimeria, is known from the waters of the western Indian ocean.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
06-Feb-2012 06-Feb-2012 MODIFIED
12-Feb-2010 (import)