Weeds in Australia

About weeds

Weeds of National Significance

Thirty two Weeds of National Significance (WoNS) have been identified by Australian governments based on their invasiveness, potential for spread and environmental, social and economic impacts. A list of 20 WoNS was endorsed in 1999 and a further 12 were added in 2012.

Information on the selection process is available on the Weeds Australia website.

Managing WONS

Individual landowners and managers are ultimately responsible for managing WoNS. State and territory governments are responsible for overall legislation and administration.

WoNS have been selected as they require coordination among all levels of government, organisations and individuals with weed management responsibilities. The development of a strategic plan for each WoNS helps define responsibilities and identify strategies and actions to control the species.

There are three phases of national management for WoNS. In phases one and two, each WoNS has a Management Coordinator and a National Management Group/Steering Committee to oversee implementation of the goals and actions of the WoNS strategic plans and to develop and coordinate priority actions. In phase three, state and territory governments take responsibility for national coordination within their jurisdictions. The responsible government agencies report to the Australian Weeds Committee on progress against any remaining actions under the strategic plans.

The 32 WONS

The WoNS listed below are individual species or genera. Please note that some of these species or genera are grouped together as one of the 32 WoNS (e.g. Asparagus weeds, Brooms, Opuntioid cacti, and Bitou bush / Boneseed).