Consultation on proposed regulations

Public consultation


The Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities released the National Television and Computer Product Stewardship Scheme: Consultation Paper on Proposed Regulations for public comment on 8 March 2011.

Submissions closed on 8 April 2011 and 62 submissions have been received. Copies of submissions and a summary of the matters that were raised can be found below. Feedback on the consultation paper is being considered in the preparation of the Regulations for the Scheme.

The Department would like to thank all those who provided submissions.

Number Submitted by
002 Above Capricorn Technologies (Word - 24KB)
034 ACT NOWaste (Word - 37KB)
028 Ashfield Council (PDF - 1265KB)
026 Australian Industry Group (PDF - 1671KB)
057 Australian Information Industry Association (PDF - 1030KB)
040 Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association (PDF - 132KB)
054 Australian National Retailers' Association (PDF - 894KB)
009 Brisbane City Council (Word - 31KB)
039 Buyequip Pty Ltd (Word - 215KB)
007 Calder Regional Waste Management Group (Word - 30KB)
036 Cash for Computers (Word - 427KB)
055 Central Murray Regional Waste Management Group (PDF - 161KB)
029 Centre for Wireless Monitoring and Applications, Griffith University (PDF - 21KB)
019 City of Marion (PDF - 222KB)
014 City of Mount Gambier (PDF - 187KB)
012 City of Whitehorse (PDF - 95KB)
003 Clare Cox (Word - 24KB)
015 Close the Loop Ltd (PDF - 32KB)
045 Community Recycling Network Australia (PDF - 331KB)
022 Eastman Kodak Company (Word - 125KB)
021 Environment House (Word - 157KB)
053 Gippsland Regional Waste Management Group (PDF - 226KB)
013 GreenFix Environmental, on behalf of the Victorian Alliance of Australian Disability Enterprises (PDF - 178KB)
046 Lake Macquarie City Council (PDF - 1225KB)
049 Local Government Association of Tasmania (Word - 60KB)
033 Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW (Word - 165KB)
048 Local Government Association of South Australia (PDF - 133KB)
006 Mai-Wel E-cycling Services (Word - 27KB)
050 Metropolitan Waste management Group (PDF - 1030KB)
004 Mike Ritchie and Associates (Word - 81KB)
047 Municipal Association of Victoria (PDF - 154KB)
060 National Association of Charitable Recycling Organisations (PDF - 260KB)
038 Net Balance Management Group (PDF - 297KB)
061 NSW Office of Environment and Heritage (Word - 72KB)
016 North East Victorian Regional Waste Management Group (PDF - 26KB)
025 PENTAQ Technology Pty Ltd (PDF - 39KB)
056 Product Stewardship Australia and the Australian Information Industry Association, supported by the Consumer Electronics Suppliers' Association (PDF - 863KB)
005 Qubator Pty Ltd (Word - 26KB)
008 RAMROC Riverina Waste Group (PDF - 217KB)
058 Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils (PDF - 78KB)
035 SERRROC (Word - 163KB)
051 Sims Recycling Solutions (PDF - 162KB)
037 Sony Australia Limited (PDF - 714KB)
017 Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (PDF - 95KB)
032 Total Environment Centre (PDF - 58KB)
Appendix A (PDF - 212KB)
020 Waste Authority of Western Australia (PDF - 24KB)
041 Western Australian Local Government Association (PDF - 36KB)
027 Western Metropolitan Regional Council (RTF - 127KB)
062 Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (PDF - 127KB)

Consultation process

The public consultation process included a consultation paper and a series of public meetings. The objectives of the consultation process were to:

  • Ensure the government has a comprehensive understanding of potential impacts and implications associated with the proposed regulations.
  • Gather and use stakeholder feedback to ensure the design and operation of the proposed regulations is appropriate.
  • Improve awareness and expectations among stakeholders of Scheme, especially for those who will have obligations under the proposed regulations.

Consultation paper

Public meetings

Public meetings, attended by more than 300 people, were held from 15 March to 4 April 2011 in all capital cities and selected regional areas (Ballina, Bendigo and Townsville). These meetings provided an opportunity for attendees to seek clarification and provide feedback on the proposed Regulations. An opportunity was also provided to individuals and organisations to hold face-to-face meetings with Australian Government officials and 32 of these meetings were held.

You can download a copy of the presentation that was given at the public meetings below:

Public meetings were held in the following capital cities and regional areas:

Timetable for public meetings
Date Location
Tues 15 March 2011 Brisbane
Wed 16 March 2011 Sydney
Thurs 17 March 2011 Melbourne
Fri 18 March 2011 Bendigo, VIC
Mon 21 March 2011 Canberra
Fri 25 March 2011 Hobart
Fri 25 March 2011 Ballina, NSW
Wed 30 March 2011 Perth
Wed 30 March 2011 Adelaide
Fri 1 April 2011 Darwin
Mon 4 April 2011 Townsville, Qld


Responsibility for copyright in submissions resides with the author(s), not with the Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities.


Some submissions have been supplied in confidence and have not been posted. If you have concerns about published material, please email

Formats and accessibility

The department has made every effort to ensure submissions provided are as accessible as possible. If you have difficulty accessing the information provided and need further assistance, please email