Asia-Pacific Focal Point

for World Heritage Managers

States Parties which have signed the World Heritage Convention

As of October 2006 there were 183 States Parties  that have signed the World Heritage Convention.

The Asia-Pacific region consists of 41 countries, 40 of which are signatories to the World Heritage Convention. The Pacific region is currently under-represented on the World Heritage List, with only 6 of the 16 countries in the Pacific having signed up to the Convention. The 41 countries in the Asia-Pacific region (as defined by the Focal Point) are listed below.

Signatories to the Convention are in bold (date of deposit of ratication(R), acceptance(A) or notification of succession(S) in brackets*):

Central and East Asia Region

Indian Sub-Continent Region

South East Asia Region

Pacific Region


   Links to another web site
   Opens a pop-up window