Department of the Environment

Archived media releases and speeches

The Hon Tony Burke MP

Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

National Wildlife Corridors Plan Advisory Group

Media release
12 April 2011

Environment Minister Tony Burke today announced members of an advisory group to inform the Gillard Government’s development of a National Wildlife Corridors Plan, to be chaired by former Environment Minister Bob Debus.

The National Wildlife Corridors Plan advisory group, which meets for the first time today, will consult with regional and community groups, landholders, environmental organisations, other governments and the private sector to inform development of a draft National Wildlife Corridors Plan.

Mr Burke said the meeting of the advisory group was an important step in delivery of the Government’s commitment to establish a National Wildlife Corridors Plan.

“The Gillard Government understands we need to prepare our native plants and animals as well as our agricultural landscape for climate change,” Mr Burke said.

“That’s why the Government has commmitted to working with the community through regional natural resource management groups to plan these National Wildlife Corridors.

“The corridors will link national parks and reserves with well-managed private land and guide future Government investments in projects to support the protection of our natural environment and conserve our biodiversity.”

The Gillard Government made a commitment at the 2010 Election to invest $10 million to build the resilience of Australia’s environment to climate change by working with the 56 regional natural resource management groups to develop a National Wildilife Corridors Plan.

The Advisory Group comprises representatives from academia, industry, environmental non-government organisations, natural resource management bodies and Indigenous groups.

National Wildlife Advisory Corridors Plan Advisory Group
Name Affiliation
The Hon Bob Debus Independent Chair
Kym Cheatham Ecotourism Australia
Professor Steve Dovers Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU
Debra Goostrey Urban Development Institute of Australia
Melissa George Indigenous Advisory Committee
Brett de Hayr National Landcare Facilitator
Dr Judy Henderson Northern Rivers Catchment Management Authority
Doug Humann Bush Heritage Australia
Angus Hume Natural resource management / agriculture advisor
Vicki Jo Russell Australian Landcare Council
Dr Paul Sinclair Australian Conservation Foundation
Felicity Wishart The Wilderness Society
Deb Kerr National Farmers Federation