Department of the Environment

Archived media releases and speeches

The Hon Tony Burke MP

Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Post offices placed on Commonwealth Heritage List

Media release
30 August 2012

Federal Environment Minister Tony Burke today announced the inclusion of 15 post offices on the Commonwealth Heritage List.

Mr Burke said post offices in Queensland, Victoria, New South Wales and Western Australia have been added to the list.

"From the central business districts of our capital cities to our remote regional and rural communities, the local post office can provide invaluable insights into how historical events impacted the local community," he said.

"Building a permanent post office was often the first major government service or infrastructure given to a new community.

"The inclusion of 15 new post offices on the Commonwealth Heritage List will ensure these important local places are recognised, celebrated and protected for future generations."

Mr Burke said there was a fascinating story behind each post office.

"In Tumut in NSW for example, the post office was built to service the area that was growing rapidly after gold was found just south east of the town in 1859," he said.

"I can imagine the pride that early settlers in Tumut would have felt when their growing community got their new post office in 1879 and this was even before they had a town council or railway."

Changes and developments in Australia's architectural movements can also be explored through the design of post offices.

"Built in 1913 the design and scale of the Cooroy Post Office in Queensland is an example of public buildings built at the end of what is known as the Federation style of architecture," Mr Burke said.

"The building and location of post offices after 1901 also tell us of the development and changing landscape of our capital cities."

The Brisbane GPO heritage listing recognises its significance as part of a rare civic group, its social significance as a meeting place and its research potential as the site of the former Moreton Bay convict female factory.

The Melbourne GPO heritage listing recognises the creative and technical achievement of its tower as corner landmark and its combination of Renaissance and Baroque architectural revival styles.

"I am also pleased to announce additional Commonwealth heritage protection for the iconic Brisbane GPO and Melbourne GPO buildings by expanding their heritage values," Mr Burke said.

"These heritage listings recognise and highlight the importance of significant historic public buildings and for their sophistication in civic architecture and their high level of creative and architectural merit."

The 15 new post offices being placed on the Commonwealth Heritage List are:

  • Ayr Post Office, Qld
  • Bondi Beach Post Office, NSW
  • Byron Bay Post Office, NSW
  • Camden Post Office, NSW
  • Cobar Post Office, NSW
  • Cooroy Post Office, Qld
  • Cronulla Post Office, NSW
  • Euroa Post Office, VIC
  • Ingham Post Office, Qld
  • Marrickville Post Office, NSW
  • Scone Post Office, NSW
  • Tumut Post Office, NSW
  • Victoria Park Post Office, WA
  • Wingham Post Office, NSW
  • City Streets Delivery Centre, VIC

For more information go to