Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Joint Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp
Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources
Ian Macfarlane

20 August 2002

Government and Industry Meet to Map Greenhouse Direction

Major industry association leaders will meet with senior Government ministers in Canberra tomorrow to further develop Australia’s comprehensive greenhouse response.

Environment Minister, Dr David Kemp, and Industry Minister, Ian Macfarlane, will chair the Climate Change Dialogue to begin the process of identifying and delivering long-term goals for business as it attempts to plan for greenhouse gas reductions over the next 20 to 30 years.

The Howard Government’s climate change response will ensure that Australia continues to cut greenhouse emissions while building a strong, competitive economy. Current policies will already reduce emissions to 111% of 1990 greenhouse emissions by the end of the decade, within striking distance of the 108% target agreed to under the Kyoto Protocol.

This is because the Howard Government is investing almost $1 billion on programs to combat greenhouse that will deliver about 60 million tonnes annually in emission reductions by the end of this decade; the equivalent of taking every passenger car in Australia off the road.

Discussions are also ongoing with the States in Ministerial Councils and at officials level and COAG is scheduled to discuss energy reform and greenhouse measures at its future meetings.

In addition, the Howard Government will consult with the National Environmental Consultative Forum on future greenhouse strategies.

As announced last Thursday, four elements will underpin the development of Australia’s forward climate change strategy:

A list of Dialogue attendees is attached.

Media contacts:
Catherine Job Dr Kemp’s office (02) 6277 7640 or 0408 648 400
Kirsty Boazman Mr Macfarlane’s office (02) 6277 7580 or 0412 171 444


Organisations Attending the Climate Change Dialogue as at 21 August 2002

Australian Aluminium Council
Australian Bankers Association
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Australian Coal Association
Australian Eco Generation Association
Australian Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers Association
Australian Fluorocarbon Council
Australian Gas Association
Australian Industry Group
Australian Institute of Petroleum
Australian Institute of Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heating
Australian Liquified Petroleum Gas Association
Australian Paper Industry Council
Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
Australian Trucking Association
Automobile Association of Australia
Business Council of Australia
Cement Industry Federation
Electricity Supply Association of Australia
Energy Users Association of Australia
Environment Business Australia
Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries
Federation of Automotive Products Manufacturers
Insurance Council of Australia
Master Builders Australia
Minerals Council of Australia
National Association of Forest Industries
National Farmers Federation
Plantation Timber Association of Australia
Plastics and Chemicals Industries Association
Property Council of Australia
Renewable and Sustainable Energy Roundtable
The Association of Australian Ports and Marine Authorities
Commonwealth of Australia