Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Joint Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Senator for Western Australia
Senator the Hon. Ian Campbell
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Federal Member for Flinders
Hon. Greg Hunt MP

8 March 2005

Severe Cyclone Ingrid threat to Northern Queensland

Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator Ian Campbell and Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment, Greg Hunt MP, today said there were services available to help Australians prepare for and monitor tropical Cyclone Ingrid.

At 1 pm EST, the tropical cyclone was located 270 km northeast of Cooktown and 300 km east of Cape Melville and moving westwards at 8 km/hour. Ingrid is classified as a category five cyclone, the highest category. If Ingrid maintains intensity it would be the most intensive cyclone to cross the Queensland coast since a major cyclone hit Innisfail in 1918.

Severe Tropical Cyclone Ingrid has a very destructive core with estimated wind gusts to 290 km/hr and poses a serious threat to the far north Queensland coast. The current warning area extends from Lockart River to Port Douglas, with a watch area including Cairns and as far south as Innisfail. The warning area will be refined as the cyclone moves closer to the coast.

The services include:

The Bureau's Queensland Regional Office is maintaining close contact with Queensland Emergency Services.

Media contacts:
Renae Stoikos 0418 568 434 (Senator Campbell's office)
Fiona Murphy 0423 577 045 (Mr Hunt's office)

Commonwealth of Australia