Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett AM MP
Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts

Ross Entwistle appointed to Screen Australia board

Media release
19 August 2009

Download the PDF

Minister for the Arts Peter Garrett today announced the appointment of Mr Ross Entwistle as a member of the Screen Australia Board for the next three years.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce the appointment of Mr Ross Entwistle to the Board of Screen Australia,” Mr Garrett said.

“Mr Entwistle has a long track record in the motion picture industry, in both film distribution and exhibition, with experience in more than 18 international territories”.

“He is currently the president elect of the Society of Australian Cinema Pioneers and is a former Chair of both the Australian Cinema Exhibition Coalition (ACEC) and the Motion Picture Distributors Association of Australia (MPDAA).

“Mr Entwistle previously held the position of Managing Director of AHL Entertainment, a division of Amalgamated Holdings Limited, which includes ‘Greater Union’ and ‘Birch Carroll and Coyle’ cinemas, where he managed Australia’s largest cinema circuit.

“Prior to this Mr Entwistle was Managing Director of Sony Pictures Releasing (Australia) Pty Ltd where he oversaw the Australian release of some of the company’s most successful movies. He has also held senior positions with Village Roadshow.

“Mr Entwistle brings significant experience in the marketing side of the film industry. His skills will be of tremendous value to the Screen Australia Board,” Mr Garrett said.

Other members of the Screen Australia Board are: Glen Boreham (Chair), Ian Robertson (Deputy Chair), Cherrie Bottger, Robert Connolly, Rachel Perkins, Greg Smith and Deanne Weir.

Screen Australia is the Government’s primary agency for supporting film development, production, promotion and distribution.

Commonwealth of Australia