Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett MP
Minister for Environment Protection, Heritage and the Arts

Continued support for Australia-Antarctica Airlink

Media release
11 May 2010

Download the PDF

The highly successful Australia-Antarctica Airlink will continue thanks to a $11.7 million commitment in the 2010–2011 Budget.

"The groundbreaking Airlink project provides speedy transport for scientists, expeditioners and others participating in the Australian Antarctic program from Hobart to Antarctica's Casey Station. It is an important part of Australia's leadership in the region," Environment Protection Minister Peter Garrett said.

"The Australia-Antarctica Airlink has been the single biggest boost to Australia's Antarctic program since the program's inception in the late 1940s," Mr Garrett said.

"Since it began in 2008, the importance of the Airlink program has been acknowledged by the international Antarctic community and has made an invaluable contribution to the advancement of collective interests in the Antarctic."

The $11.7 million commitment will ensure the Airlink's continued operation.

"The Airlink is one of several logistical elements that support the Australian Antarctic Program and is critical to Australia's role in protecting Antarctica," Mr Garrett said.

The Antarctic support industry, including the Airlink program, is one of the largest industries in Tasmania, contributing around $154.0 million annually to its economy.

For more information on the Australian Antarctic Program, visit 

Commonwealth of Australia