Department of the Environment

Archived media releases and speeches

Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water

Nick Champion MP

Member for Wakefield

More regional SA towns can now access 7-day forecasts

Joint media release
26 July 2012

Senator Don Farrell, Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water, today announced that more South Australians can now get location-specific 7-day forecasts in 31 additional towns across the state, thanks to a Federal Government investment.

Announcing the additional sites today at the University of Adelaide campus in Roseworthy one of the new forecast towns Senator Don Farrell said the extra forecasts mean there are now 59 communities in South Australia that can get a visual and written, seven day forecast from the Bureau of Meteorology's website.

"For the first time, people in these communities will have a location specific weather summary for the week ahead," Senator Farrell said.

"For each of the seven days, the weather is described with a visual icon, a brief written summary and the forecast maximum and minimum temperatures."

Federal Member for Wakefield, Nick Champion MP, said the addition of these extra towns means more people across the local area will have a concise weather forecast that is nearer to them.

"This new level of forecasting is invaluable for the local area. It's great for tourists, great for locals in this growing region, and great for agriculture including here at the University of Adelaide's Roseworthy Campus," Mr Champion said.

All 59 town forecasts are now available from the Bureau's interactive forecast area map. Web visitors have only to click on the highlighted town to access the 7-day forecast.

Senator Farrell said people looking for a forecast in other locations can also get that information using the point-and-click Forecast Explorer weather map viewer, which provides simple seven day forecasts for every location in the state.

He said these new functions are part of the Next Generation Forecast and Warning System which, when completed for all states in 2015, will give visitors to the Bureau's website access to:

  • Detailed 7-day forecasts for 650 towns across Australia; and
  • 7-day forecasts for any location using an interactive map viewer.

To access the South Australian forecast area map, go to:

Additional towns receiving 7-day online forecasts: Bordertown, Coffin Bay, Cummins, Edithburgh, Elliston, Ernabella, Hawker, Jamestown, Kadina, Karoonda, Kimba, Lameroo, Marla, Marree, Meningie, Minlaton, Moomba, Nullarbor, Oak Valley, Oodnadatta, Orroroo, Parawa, Parndana, Roseworthy, Snowtown, Stenhouse Bay, Stirling, Strathalbyn, Tarcoola, Waikerie, Yunta.