[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Joint Media Release
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Greg Hunt MP
Mark Baker MP
Federal Member for Braddon

26 April 2005

Improvements for Burnie/Devonport weather forecasts

Mr Greg Hunt MP, Parliamentary Secretary with ministerial responsibility for the Australian Bureau of Meteorology, and Mr Mark Baker, Federal Member for Braddon, today announced that the Bureau has extended its four-day minimum temperature forecasts to include Burnie/Devonport.

"Burnie/Devonport will today join Hobart City, Launceston, St Helens, Swansea and Strahan in benefiting from minimum temperature forecasts four days ahead from the Bureau's Tasmanian Regional Forecasting centre," Mr Hunt said.

Mr Baker said the new forecasts will benefit the general public, industrial groups and tourist operators and were particularly valuable for agricultural groups across the North-West Coast.

"For example, orchardists will be able to take advantage of the improved forecast service by noting, for example, forecasts of low temperatures and planning activities to minimise the potential damage that any associated frost may cause," Mr Baker said.

"The addition to the four-day temperature forecasts will also be valuable for local tourism operators and industries that rely on the weather in carrying out day-to-day activities."

Mr Hunt acknowledged the work Mr Baker had done to ensure the Braddon electorate had access to quality meteorological services including more accurate information about local weather forecasts.

"The new addition to the four-day forecasts for Burnie/Devonport demonstrates the federal Government's commitment to providing quality meteorological services to rural and regional Australia," Mr Hunt said.

"I commend Mark Baker on his ongoing support and push for the delivery of these services to the people of the Braddon electorate."

Media Contact:
Fiona Murphy (Mr Hunt's office) 0423 577 045
Anthony Haneveer 03 6431 1333 (Mr Baker's office)

Commonwealth of Australia