Department of the Environment

Archived media releases and speeches

The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water

Geoff Lyons MP

Federal Member for Bass

Free TV and Computer Recycling now available nationally

Joint media release
23 May 2013

Australians across the country can recycle their unwanted e-waste for free, now the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme is available in every state and territory.

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water, the Hon Amanda Rishworth MP and Federal Member for Bass, Geoff Lyons MP, today officially launched the national availability of scheme services in Tasmania. The launch also coincided with the one year anniversary of the first services under the scheme.

Speaking at the event, Ms Rishworth said the Television and Computer Recycling Scheme services are now available across the country for householders and small businesses to drop off their unwanted TVs and computer products to be recycled, free of charge.

"With services now operating in Launceston, Devonport and Hobart, and the recent rollout of scheme services in the Northern Territory, there are now free recycling drop-off points in every state and territory, and in every capital city," Ms Rishworth said.

"There are now over 380 ongoing recycling services available across Australia—including 15 in Tasmania. Over 20,000 tonnes of unwanted televisions and computers have already been recycled since the scheme started operation in May last year. That's equivalent to the weight of 50 full Boeing 747s," Ms Rishworth said.

Mr Lyons said the start of services in Launceston is a welcome addition to recycling options for people in the city and the surrounding area.

"People from across the region are now able to drop off their unwanted televisions and computers at this service for free, safe in the knowledge that these products will be recycled in an environmentally friendly way."

"Hazardous materials including lead, mercury and zinc will be prevented from entering the local environment and valuable non-renewable resources, including gold and other precious metals, will be saved for reuse," Mr Lyons said.

Ms Rishworth said a key feature of the scheme is that it provides a long-term solution to the disposal of e-waste, and it showcases the successful collaboration of the Australian Government with industry to deliver for the community.

"The scheme provides a long-term response to the challenges of managing television and computer waste, as well as opportunities for the community to recycle their unwanted televisions and computers free of charge," Ms Rishworth said.

Currently there are on-going recycling services operating in Hobart, Launceston and Devonport. Collection events and ongoing drop-off points will continue to roll out throughout 2013, providing access to free recycling drop off for 97 per cent of Australians.

Australia's first recycling sites in Canberra began collecting waste in May last year. Since then the ACT has collected and recycled over 3,000 tonnes of waste televisions and computers.

The National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme is industry funded and run, but regulated by the Australian Government under the landmark Product Stewardship Act 2011. Industry is also responsible for determining the location and timing of scheme recycling services, within the parameters set by government.

Further information on the scheme, including service location details, can be found at:

National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme recycling locations in Tasmania:

Suburb/Town Address Products Accepted
Bridgewater Brighton Waste Transfer Station, 131 Cove Hill Road TVs & Computers
Spreyton Spreyton Waste Transfer Station, Mersey Road TVs & Computers
Glenorchy Jackson Street Waste Management Centre TVs & Computers
South Hobart McRobies Gully Waste Management Centre, McRobies Road TVs & Computers
Huonville Southbridge Waste Transfer Station, 2899 Huon Highway TVs & Computers
Barretta Barretta Waste Management Facility, 1922 Channel Highway TVs & Computers
Mowbray Launceston Waste Centre, Remount Road TVs & Computers
Burnie Harvey Norman, 43-45 Marine Terrace TVs only
Cambridge Harvey Norman, B10 66-68 Kennedy Drive TVs only
Devonport Harvey Norman, 2 Friend Street , Devonport TVs only
Hobart Harvey Norman, 1171 Murray Street, TVs only
Launceston Harvey Norman, Cnr William & Charles Streets TVs only
Moonah Harvey Norman, 191-197 Main Road TVs only
Hobart Officeworks, 99 – 103 Campbell Street Computers only limit of 5 items
Launceston Officeworks , 260 – 264 York Street (Cnr Bathurst St) Computers only limit of 5 items

Further information regarding e-waste recycling drop-off points can be found at: