Asia-Pacific Migratory Waterbird Conservation Strategy: 2001-2005

Asia-Pacific Migratory Waterbird Conservation Committee
Wetlands International - Asia Pacific, 2001
ISBN 983 9663 30 5


Conservation of migratory waterbirds and wetlands is a primary focus of Wetlands International. We consider promotion of efforts to conserve waterbirds as an important tool to foster and build international support and cooperation to generate awareness and build local and national capacity to undertake actions to conserve wetlands and their biodiversity. Wetlands International recognises the importance of the development of strategic conservation plans through consultation and of the building of partnerships with governments, conventions, other NGOs, technical experts, local people, the corporate sector and development/donor agencies to promote and implement these plans at a local and national level. Implementation of the Strategy: 1996-2000 and the development of the Strategy: 2001-2005 has been a cooperative initiative involving governments of the region, the Convention on Wetlands, the Convention on Migratory Species, BirdLife International, World Wide Fund for Nature, International Crane Foundation, national and local NGOs, members of the public and Wetlands International.

Wetlands International acknowledges the generous funding support received from the governments of Australia and Japan, and for the guidance, encouragement and support of the staff of both agencies. We are also very grateful to the many agencies and organisations who have funded implementation of the many activities under the framework of the Strategy. For the generous support and arrangements for the hosting of the international workshop held in Okinawa, Japan in October 2000 at which the Strategy and Action Plans were finalised, we are extremely thankful to the Naha City and Tomigusuku Village of Okinawa Prefecture, Okinawa Manko Steering Committee and Okinawa NGO Steering Committee.

Wetlands International is very grateful to present and past members of the Asia-Pacific Migratory Waterbird Conservation Committee (MWCC), Anatidae Working Group, Crane Working Group, Shorebird Working Group and particularly the Flyway Officers, who have contributed tirelessly to the implementation of the Strategy and guided the development of future plans:

Brad Andres, Vladmir A. Andronov, Mark Barter, Simba Chan, Carlo Custodio, Agus Dermawan, Rebecca D’Cruz, Brendan Edgar, Yuri Gerasimov, Nikolai Germogenov, Jim Harris, Douglas Hykle, Noritaka Ichida, Valentin Ilyashenko, Kim Jin-Han, Park Jin Young, Anmol Kumar, Robert R. Leedy, Yuxiang Li, Masayuki Kurechi, Trixi Madon, Marlynn M. Mendoza, Yoshihiko Miyabayashi, David Melville, Kojiro Mori, Yaya Mulyana, Taej Mundkur, Fumiko Nakao, Bill Phillips, Qian Fawen, Alison Russell-French, M. Satyanarayana, Tom Scotney, S.C. Sharma, Alexander Sorokin, Evgeny. E. Syroechkovski Jr., Uthai Treesucon, Natsagdorjiyn Tseveenmyadag, Sadayosi Tobai, Toshio Torii, Pak U-il, Wang Weisheng, Wang Wei, Doug Watkins, Lew Young, Zhang Jianlong and Zhen Ren De.

In the preparation of this publication, useful comments and suggestions have also been received from a number of people whom we also wish to thank, in addition to those listed above: Ayu Rahayu Mustapha, Alvin Lopez, Roger Jaensch, Li Zuowei (David), Amaravathy Sivalingam, Gerard C. Boere, Tim Dodman, and Matt Wheeler (of Wetlands International), George Archibald, Claire Mirande and Crawford Prentice (International Crane Foundation), and Mike Crosby (BirdLife International). Baz Hughes, Eileen Rees, Stefan Pihl and David Stroud of the Wetlands International Specialist Groups kindly reviewed the draft Strategy and provided valuable guidance.

We are also very grateful to all participants of the International Workshop on the Asia-Pacific Migratory Waterbird Conservation Strategy: 2001-2005 organised in Okinawa, Japan in October 2000, who provided comments on the document and assisted in its finalisation.

Staff of Wetland International (present and past) has assisted in various ways to develop, promote and implement actions of the Strategy and in the preparation of this publication. We are grateful to all staff especially: Olga Anisimova, Paul Erftemeijer, Flora George, Chen Kelin, Kaori Matsui, Arthur Mitchell, Koji Tagi, C.L. Trisal, Mam Kosal, Michael Ounsted, Rosie Ounsted, Faizal Parish, Dibjo Sartono, Marcel Silvius, Nyoman Suryadiputra, Yus Rusila Noor, Joost van der Ven, Nelson Yeoh, and Lim Seng Yam.

Executive Director
Wetlands International - Asia Pacific
March 2001