Australian Antarctic Territory

The Australian Antarctic Territory, including the sub-Antarctic territories of Heard Island, McDonald Island and Macquarie Island, has been included as a separate theme for the first time in SoE 2006. In SoE 1996 and SoE 2001 the information about the condition of these external territories was integrated into the other themes.

Two separate commentaries were commissioned to cover the Australian Antarctic Territory theme: