Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee

The Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee (DOIC) is an independent expert committee. The role of the DOIC is to support the environmental integrity of carbon offsets generated under the Carbon Farming Initiative (CFI). The DOIC assesses proposals for methodologies under the CFI and advises the Minister for the Environment. The Minister decides whether to make methodology determinations, which must be based on methodology proposals that have been endorsed by the DOIC. Projects under the Carbon Farming Initiative must be based on methodology determinations.

The DOIC also provides advice to the Minister on activities that are eligible under the Carbon Farming Initiative and are not common practice. The Minister makes regulations specifying a list of such activities, known as the positive list.

The Minister may also seek the DOIC's technical and scientific advice on other offset matters.


Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee members

Associate Professor Andrew Macintosh  (Chair)

Associate Professor Andrew Macintosh is the Associate Director of the Centre for Climate Law and Policy at the Australian National University (ANU). He is also a fellow at the Australian Centre for Environmental Law and member of the ANU Centre for Climate Economics & Policy, ANU Climate Change Institute and ANU Energy Change Institute. He has expertise in environmental law and policy, particularly in relation to climate change mitigation and adaptation, property rights regimes, land use, land-use change and forestry, and environmental impact assessment and approval processes.

Dr Tony Press

Dr Press has led one of Australia’s leading climate science bodies, the Australian Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre as CEO since 2009 and has been Chair of the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens Board for many years. He was previously a senior executive on the Environment Forest Taskforce in the Department of the Environment and Heritage and was the Director of the Cooperative Research Centre for the Sustainable Development of Australia’s Tropical Savannas.

Professor Lynette Abbott

Professor Abbott holds positions at the School of Earth and Environment and the University of Western Australia’s Institute of Agriculture. She held the position of Vice Dean of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences until its recent amalgamation to form the Faculty of Science at UWA. Professor Abbott is an internationally well-known and respected scientist who has published widely in soil, agricultural and botanical research journals. Professor Abbott’s principle area of scientific expertise is within the agricultural sector with broad expertise in soil biology, including retention/protection of soil carbon.

Ms Rebecca Burdon

Ms Burdon is the acting General Manager Review at the Climate Change Authority. Prior to that, she was the Principal Economist at the Australian Communications and Media Authority. Ms Burdon has extensive international experience assessing the economic impact of existing and proposed regulatory interventions. Ms Burdon assisted the New South Wales government with the development of the Greenhouse Gas Abatement Scheme, specifically with the rules governing the creation of NSW Greenhouse Gas Abatement Certificates from demand-side abatement activities.

Dr Brian Keating (CSIRO representative)

Dr Keating is Director of the National Research Flagship on Sustainable Agriculture focusing on productivity, greenhouse gas abatement and sustainability challenges in Australian agriculture, forestry and land-use systems. Brian has 35 year's experience in agricultural and natural resource management Research and Development with leadership roles including the Chief of the CSIRO Division of Sustainable Ecosystems (2004-2008) and a past Board member of Sugar, Rainforest Ecology and Management and Tropical Savannas Co-operative research Centres. Brian has authored over 200 scientific papers covering diverse topics including soil and water management, plant nutrition, soil carbon and nitrogen cycling, crop physiology, farming systems analysis and design, bioenergy, simulation modelling, climatic risk management and food security. He is a continuing member of the Editorial Board of the international journal, Agricultural Systems.

Ms Shayleen Thompson (Department of the Environment representative)

Ms Thompson is the Head of the International and Land Division in the Department of the Environment. She has extensive experience with international and domestic climate change policy and programs including the National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting Scheme, the National Greenhouse Gas Inventory, the Carbon Farming Initiative and the Renewable Energy Target. The Land Division was established in July 2010 to provide a coherent and coordinated approach to climate change mitigation.

Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee Secretariat

The Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee (DOIC) Secretariat provides administrative support for the ongoing functions of the DOIC. The Secretariat is also the point of contact for methodology proponents in their dealings with the DOIC.

DOIC enquiries should be directed to the Secretariat at:

Methodology assessment integrity

Members of the Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee bring a range of expertise relevant to the rigorous and objective assessment of Carbon Farming Initiative methodology proposals, including greenhouse gas abatement science, agriculture, forestry and soil science, international markets and climate change policy.

The Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Act 2011 requires members of the Domestic Offsets Integrity Committee to disclose on an ongoing basis any interest, pecuniary or otherwise, in any matter being considered by the Committee. They must also not engage in any employment or activity that conflicts or may conflict with the proper performance of their duties as Committee members. If a Committee member discloses a conflict of interest he or she must:

  • Not be present or take part in any deliberation or decision by the Committee on the matter, unless the Committee determines otherwise, and
  • Absent themselves from determination by the Committee as to whether they should not be present during deliberation on the matter.