Australian Actions to Combat Desertification and Land Degradation

National Report by Australia on Measures Taken to Support Implementation of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification
Commonwealth Intergovernmental Working Group for the UNCCD, April 2002


ACIAR: Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

AFFA: Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Forestry - Australia

ANZLIC: Australian & New Zealand Land Information Council

AusAID: Australian Agency for International Development

COAG: Council of Australian Governments

CRC: Cooperative Research Centre

CSIRO: Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Landcare: Landcare is a Federal Government initiative, first introduced in 1990 as a community-based grants scheme to assist landholders to improve land management activities. In 1997, the Program model was adopted to develop a diverse range of programs, utilising funding available from the Natural Heritage Trust.

NGO: Non Government Organisation

NHT or the Trust: The Natural Heritage Trust

NRMMC: Natural Resource Management Ministerial Council