Environmental Research Advisory Panel

National Environmental Research Program

The Environmental Research Advisory Panel (ERAP) was appointed by the Minister  to provide advice on appropriate grant investments under the National Environmental Research Program. The Advisory Panel comprised a mix of independent research experts as well as policy experts representing the Department and relevant portfolio agencies.


  • Dr John Williams (Chair)
  • Dr Steven Cork
  • Professor Peter Harrison
  • Dr Trevor Ward
  • Mr Jim Binney
  • Dr Ronnie Harding
  • Dr Charlie Zammit
  • Dr Judy West
  • Mr John Gunn

Functions of the Advisory Panel

The Advisory Panel:

  • reviewed and ranked expressions of interest (EOI) for funding with respect to the selection criteria outlined in the National Environmental Research Program Guidelines (the Program Guidelines) and taking into consideration advice from the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts (the Department);
  • provided advice to the Department on potential improvements to selected EOI proposals;
  • ranked the full applications for hub funding, with respect to the selection criteria outlined in the Program Guidelines and taking into consideration advice from the Department;
  • provide advice to the Minister about appropriate hub investments; and
  • if requested by the Minister the panel can provide advice on appropriate investments for emerging priority projects.


National Environmental Research Program
Department of the Environment
GPO Box 787
Canberra ACT 2601
Phone: 02 6274 2589
Email: nerp@environment.gov.au