South-east Commonwealth Marine Reserves Network - Overview


Overview of the South-east Commonwealth Marine Reserves Network
Network area 388 464 km2
Depth range 40m-4600m
Number of reserves 14 reserves (ranging in size from 537 to 162 000 km2)
Types of zoning
  • Sanctuary Zone (IUCN Category Ia) 58 000 km2 or 14.93% of the network
  • Marine National Park (IUCN Category II) 96 046 km2 or 24.72% of the network
  • Habitat Protection Zone (IUCN Category IV) 104 389 km2 or 26.87% of the network
  • Recreational Use (IUCN Category IV) 323 km2 on 0.08% of the network
  • Special Purpose Zone (IUCN Category VI) 81 254 km2 or 20.92% of the network
  • Multiple Use Zone (IUCN Category VI) 48 452 km2 or 12.47% of the network

Key conservation values

  • Features with high biodiversity and productivity, such as the east Tasmania subtropical convergence zone, Bass Cascade, upwelling east of Eden, seamounts south and east of Tasmania, Bonney coast upwelling
  • Breeding and resting areas for southern right whale
  • Migration areas for blue, fin, sei, southern right and humpback whales
  • Foraging areas for Australian sea lion, white shark, Harrison's dogfish, killer and sei whales, Australasian gannet, fairy prion, black-faced cormorant, little penguin, crested tern, and several species of seal, penguin, albatross, petrel, shear-water and gulls
  • Wrecks of MV City of Rayville, SS Cambridge and ketch Eliza Davies.
  • 10 provincial bioregions and 17 seafloor types are represented in the network.