Indigenous Water Advisory Committee

The Indigenous Water Advisory Committee advises the department on incorporating Indigenous views, beliefs and interests into the development and implementation of Commonwealth water policies and programs. It was established in recognition of the importance of considering Indigenous interests, values and needs in developing and implementing national water reform policy.


The Indigenous Water Advisory Committee provides advice directly to senior officials within the department's Water Group.

The committee provides advice on matters such as:

  • Commonwealth water policies, programs and research activities;
  • Indigenous stakeholder and engagement strategies for water policy and program development and implementation;
  • integration of Indigenous cultural heritage and natural resource management knowledge into water policy, program development and implementation, and research activities;
  • implementation of water-related 'Closing the Gap' initiatives administered by the department.

When required, the committee also provides advice to other Commonwealth water portfolio agencies such as the National Water Commission, the Bureau of Meteorology and the Murray Darling Basin Authority.


The Indigenous Water Advisory Committee meets between two and four times annually. The first meeting was held in October 2012. The second meeting was held in February 2013.


The Indigenous Water Advisory Committee has ten members. All members have demonstrated skills, knowledge and experience on issues relevant to national Indigenous water policy.

The committee is chaired by Mr Phil Duncan. Membership includes the Chair of the Minister's Indigenous Advisory Committee, Ms Melissa George, as an ex-officio member.

Members are:

  • Ms Cheryl Buchanan
  • Mr George Cooley
  • Mr David Collard
  • Mr Robert Dalton
  • Mr Phil Duncan
  • Ms Melissa George
  • Ms Katie Kiss
  • Mr Bradley Moggridge
  • Ms Lillian Moseley
  • Mr Brian Wyatt


Secretariat support for the committee is provided by staff within the department's Water Reform Division. If you would like more information about the committee please direct all enquiries to the IWAC Secretariat using the details below.



IWAC Secretariat
Water Reform Division
GPO Box 787
Canberra ACT 2601