Lake Eyre Basin


On 21 September 2015, responsibility for water policy and resources was transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources - Administrative Arrangement Order made on 21 September 2015.

This website will be updated to reflect these changes.

Map of the Lake Eyre Basin

Map of the Lake Eyre Basin
Lake Eyre Basin map (PDF - 534.08 KB)

Lake Eyre Basin is one of the world's largest internally draining system covering about 1.2 million square kilometres, almost one-sixth of Australia. The Lake Eyre Basin includes large parts of South Australia, the Northern Territory, Queensland and some of western New South Wales. Lake Eyre is the fifth largest terminal lake in the world.

The Lake Eyre Basin is an area of high conservation significance that supports:

  • wetlands, e.g. the Ramsar listed Coongie Lakes
  • grasslands and deserts, e.g. Simpson Desert National Park
  • rare and endangered plants, e.g. Kowari and Waddi Waddi trees (Acacia peuce)
  • rare and endangered animals, e.g. greater bilby

Lake Eyre Basin Agreement

The Australian Government is working with the Queensland, South Australian and Northern Territory governments and the Lake Eyre Basin community to implement the Lake Eyre Basin Intergovernmental Agreement. The Agreement provides for the sustainable management of the water and related natural resources associated with the cross-border river systems in the Lake Eyre Basin.

More information

The Lake Eyre Basin Agreement web site contains more information on the Lake Eyre Basin and relevant state and regional processes: