2011 Prime Minister's Water Wise Award finalists and winner

photo of 2011 winner's trophy

2011 winner's trophy

Photo courtesy of Nigel Welch

Nursery Traders Pty Ltd was announced as the winner of the Prime Minister's Water Wise Award at a gala dinner in Melbourne on Friday 11 November 2011.

Winner - Nursery Traders Pty Ltd

Judging Panel comments - A standout winner, Nursery Traders Pty Ltd has proven their strong commitment to water efficiency over nearly two decades. The high level of staff involvement in the organisation's quest for water self-sufficiency is particularly commendable. The Nursery Traders team has implemented a broader approach to water efficiency to deliver triple bottom line outcomes, and are also excellent advocates in broadly showcasing their efforts to the public, industry and the media to encourage others to replicate their initiatives. The organisation's exceptional water savings are complemented by savings in energy and paper use through its adopted sustainability program.


Encore Tissue (Aust) Pty Ltd

Judging Panel Comments - Encore Tissue (Aust) Pty Ltd saved an astounding 166 megalitres of water over the 12 months to June 2011 by making a considerable investment in innovative new technology. The organisation saved 50 per cent of its potable water use, recycled waste-water in the tissue making process and achieved significant reductions in trade waste discharges. Such innovations within the industrial sector are a welcome demonstration of how a 'steep change' in thinking is often required to deliver the saving volumes necessary to claim significant reductions in costs, waste and water use.

Geelong Racing Club

Judging Panel Comments - Geelong Racing Club has adopted a portfolio of programs to deliver a suite of solutions over many years. Investment in efficient irrigation systems in the 2010 - 2011 financial year allowed 100 per cent of irrigation needs to be delivered from non-potable supplies. The Club has created a sense of community by widely promoting its water saving activities to inspire others, and by sharing its water resources with the local community showgrounds. This effort is outstanding and provides a wonderful example to both the racing industry and general public.

Plant Growers Australia Pty Ltd

Judging Panel Comments - Plant Growers Australia Pty Ltd has exhibited a mathematical, scientific approach to achieve excellence in water efficiency. The company has delivered broad sustainability outcomes and has ensured the longevity of its programs through considerable staff involvement. To achieve 66 per cent savings in water use over 12 months after a 91 per cent reduction the previous year is especially impressive. Plant Growers' continued efforts over an extended period of time has resulted in a 'total irrigation system' which improves collection, storage, treatment, distribution and reuse.

Village Centre Batemans Bay

Judging Panel Comments - As a community hub, the Village Centre Batemans Bay has tackled the need to reduce potable water use in a comprehensive way by using effective, readily available technologies. In particular, Village Centre has effectively engaged stakeholders and informed both customers and industry bodies of its efforts. The Centre is now a model for other shopping centres wishing to achieve water efficiency and sustainable outcomes without having to commit substantial resources.

Highly Commended

Daisy Fresh Professional Dry Cleaners

Judging Panel Comments - Daisy Fresh Professional Dry Cleaners is to be commended for its commitment to overall sustainability. While not a finalist, this organisation's efforts are a fine example of how excellent outcomes can be achieved with minimal financial outlay, and is a great case study for the general dry cleaning industry. The impressive water savings percentage over previous years has clearly been driven by a strong personal commitment.

For more information on the winner and finalists of the 2011 award visit:

savewater!® Alliance provided secretariat and award hosting services for the 2011 Award on behalf of the Australian Government Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities.

Information on the 2010 finalists and winner of the award.